Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Tiki rum bottle

Pages: 1 15 replies

I

I am pretty new at this. But I just found a tiki at an Estate Sale. It is a black rum bottle with arms and legs. I have heard it is sort of rare. Does anyone have any info on this? -Isaca

sounds like it might be a special edition Kahlua bottle, but we need a picture.

[ Edited by: kahukini on 2002-05-30 00:51 ]

I
isaca posted on Thu, May 30, 2002 1:01 AM

I need to figure out how to post a picture. The tiki is squating and has his hands over his ears or eyes. It's made out of black rough ceramic. I dont think Kahlua but who knows.

[ Edited by: isaca on 2002-05-30 01:03 ]

K

it's not kahlua then. those are brown glass. maybe it's a decanter made by Hawaiian Distillers

If it is black, squatting, with his hands above his eyes, with a rough texture, it's more than likely a Trader Vics bottle.(the mugs are pictured on page 92 of Book of Tiki) Both the mugs and bottle are valuable and "wanted" by collectors.

Erich Troudt

**Poly-Pop ***

Bartender, make mine a glass of WATAHHH!!!!!

[ Edited by: PolynesianPop 2013-02-04 20:10 ]

M

PolynesianPop wrote:
isaca, your description definitely fits the bill for the Trader Vic's Suffering Bastard mug. It is somewhat uncommon however, Good find on you part.

Once again, this type of thing NEVER happens to me! I agree, great find. Definitely sounds like the Sufferin' B in bottle/decanter size. One more "holy grail" missing from my collection.

midnite

I
isaca posted on Thu, May 30, 2002 6:45 PM

Well, I got it for about 5 bucks at some old lady's estate sale along with another one that's chipped a little. Usually this sort of thing does not happen to me so i'm happy.

Good Job paying that little for it.

Thats how I got my two Trader Vics mugs...75 cents each at a garage sale...

Erich Troudt