Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Cool Tiki Lamp on Ebay

Pages: 1 36 replies

H

[ Edited by: hulalula on 2003-02-24 16:47 ]

2 coconuts worth for you...

I've rewired lots of lamps. I am not a certified electrician, but understand basic electricity...isn't there some concern about the cord being "wrapped tediously with seagrass rope"? I'd hate to see a fellow TC'er (hec, anyone for that matter) have their house go up in flames from wrapping their lamp cord wrapped in rope in case it ever cracks or breaks in the future. Imagine a rope fire trailing up the cord and to the ceiling! Maybe I've got that Great White concert disaster on my mind.

Any thoughts from an actual qualified electrician?

ElectroCaddyDaddy

I hate it when people say 'creepy tiki' like it says in their description. Red light bulbs create an exotic flair or a certain ambiant light but not creepy. Creepy is Steve Buschemi in Con Air.

Very cool lamp. I'd love to have that.

H

my 2 coconuts...

Thanks for your concern.
To be honest, the creator is my boyfriend and has similar lamps hanging in his home already. The electrial components are all new items (cord is not flawed or broken to expose the wiring), and the grass (or rope) is merely wrapped around the cord and not up too close to the plug to catch "fire" from a potential stray spark when plugged in (which occassionaly happens when plugging in older electrical items, and not so much with a newer item).
But, I'll mention your concern to him...although rest assured the lamps he's made that are hanging in the house are fine and the house is still standing. =)

HH

link
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2160985744

gecko made one like that too. nice :)

G
GECKO posted on Fri, Feb 21, 2003 6:53 PM

i cannot see em? I wen clicked onto HH's da kine but still no can.

HH

try again, works for me

People,