Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Howdy / new tikibar possible in Portland OR

Pages: 1 30 replies

Hello, I'm Greg in Portland, Oregon. I have a dream and it's a tiki bar, and it's gonna be mine. I am an experienced bar manager and a refugee from the technology industry. There are two tiki bars here in Portland, the high-volume Alibi on Interstate Avenue, and the very well-executed Thatch on NE Broadway. Interestingly enough the proprietor of Thatch had the same idea that I had, quite independent of me, and implemented it well ahead of me about one year ago. Both of these bars are very different from one another, as mine will be different as well, and in another, as-yet-indeterminate part of town. I plan to use this site to get smarter as I gear up to follow my passion and I look forward to meeting some of you and receiving your wisdom and encouragement, and one day, pouring you something rum-based. Be well.

[ Edited by: Mai Tai Greg 2008-03-23 22:52 ]

On 2008-03-21 02:13, Mai Tai Greg wrote:
Hello, I'm Greg in Portland, Oregon. I have a dream and it's a tiki bar, and it's gonna be mine. I am an experienced bar manager and a refugee from the technology industry. There are two tiki bars here in Portland, the high-volume Alibi on Interstate Avenue, and the very well-executed Thatch on NE Broadway. Interestingly enough the proprietor of Thatch had the same idea that I had, quite independent of me, and implemented it well ahead of me about one year ago. Both of these bars are very different from one another, as mine will be different as well, and in another, as-yet-indeterminate part of town. I plan to use this site to get smarter as I gear up to follow my passion and I look forward to meeting some of you and receiving your wisdom and encouragement, and one day, pouring you something rum-based. Be well.

Always room for more tiki !!

Welcome.

T