Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Tiki Find - Looking for Opinions

Pages: 1 14 replies

TIT

Greetings!

I'm brand new to Tiki Central, but I've been a devoted tikiphile for most of my life. I'm posting because of an interesting tiki carving I came across in an antique store this past weekend. It's about 5 feet tall, and carved from a single section of tree trunk (I'm not sure of the type of wood.) The tag reads "tiki pole from Oklahoma." The dealer wants $475 (which seems a bit expensive to me), but the woman working in the store at the time left the dealer selling the tiki a message asking if he knew a back story and whether or not he could do better on the price.

I've included a couple of pictures. I'm not a big fan of the nose ring he's wearing, but it's not enough to keep me from buying it (if it has an interesting history.)Is it grossly overpriced? Has anyone seen one like it before?

Thanks-a-million in advance for any opinions or information.

Well for one thing, it's not vintage. It's a typical, not very unique in design Tiki revival Tiki. Everyone here knows that it is my belief that the Tiki revival has overdone it in the big teeth department, and the fact that they are painted white here does not help that.
My opinion: While there are some new carvings out there that would warrant that kind of money, this is not one of them.

I would charge around 200 for a similar carving, that nose ring can be removed pretty easy.

C
Chub posted on Mon, May 12, 2008 12:05 PM

Yep, I would pass at that price. Now my question is, how much is the guitar on the left?!!

[ Edited by: Chub 2008-05-12 12:06 ]

$100 per foot is pretty standard pricing for newer tikis. Granted, that depends on who's doing the carving. So if it's something you really like, $475 is not out of the realm of reason for a 5" tiki.