Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Tiki Tuxedo on 2nd page

Pages: 1 25 replies

B

I've been looking through some of these posts and the art is amazing! I am a drawer/ painter and I am inspired to do some tiki pieces now. I'll post photos as i make progress. here is a tiki pumpkin I carved last Halloween as a teaser and some vaguely tiki/tropical art.

Tiki pumpkin inspired by a pizz painting.

Some early papier mache stage sets I did with my old band the Hairy Buzzard Gizzards.

And a merman painting.

My friend Blindy the Pirate who turned me onto this site drew me a sketch on a bar napkin and i'm working on a painting based on it i'll post my progress here.

[ Edited by: bgizzy 2008-06-01 00:49 ]

[ Edited by: bgizzy 2008-06-23 11:57 ]

[ Edited by: bgizzy 2008-07-07 01:56 ]

[ Edited by: bgizzy 2008-07-29 02:52 ]

I really like the merman painting, great color and architecture - are you a fan of Roger Dean, like I am?

Welcome to Tiki Central, by the way.

B

I love Roger Dean's art, but I don't like Yes. Yacek Yerka influenced the architecture a lot.

FINALLY!!! :lol: :lol:

Remember this picture?

You should post the napkin, because I don't remember what it looks like.

B

Concieved on a bar napkin, this was the seed for the project

So here are the sketches

I'm leaning toward the second one. here is the sketch on canvas, i haven't put paint to it yet, so if you have any suggestions i'd love to hear them.

I don't know man, its gonna be hard to top that napkin picture.
:P :P

Can definitely tell it was drawn after a few of these: :drink:

B
bgizzy posted on Fri, Jun 6, 2008 5:54 AM

Here are some photos of the painting's progression.

O

Cool composition. I like the crab. :P:

B

Getting close to finishing, still have some work to do on the fronds, crab & sky.

Whoa, looks great! love the progress shots!

B