Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Beginner carver on a budget

Pages: 1 8 replies

PT

Aloha!
If you can't guess, I'm new here. I've been interested in tiki carving and a friend in the Fedora Lounge pointed me here. Anywho, I was looking around recommendations on tools and woods. As I am just starting out, I'm carving round,pine fenceposts about 2 inches in diameter. I picked up a set of cheap chisels and started to hammer away. My results aren't very good. Unfortunately a good portion of my paycheck is going to my college tuition, so, a set of flexcuts are somewhat out of the question. So, I was wondering if anyone had recommendations of tools and woods to use for someone on a tight budget of about $20-$30 a week. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
-Mahalo nui loa,
pia tiki

T

You can totally carve with cheap chisels, the trick is to learn how to sharpen them.

J

Yes you can can carve on your budget.

You can find wood all over the place for free, keep your eyes out. Logs are everywhere, old shipping pallets have some nice wood in them sometimes, dimensional lumber scraps can be found at building sites. If you carve small, you can get exotic wood pen blanks for a couple bucks.

I carved with a utility knife and X-Acto for a while and you can get a set of inexpensive flat chisels for about 10 bucks. Don't buy any really, really cheap carving sets with gouges- you'll just get frustrated and be wasting your money.

That said $20-30 dollars a week is a decent budget and you can buy one quality gouge or chisel a week with it and within a couple months you can have a decent basic set accumulated.

B

Pia, Ditto what Johnny said, Just what I was going to post.
Also you can find Many tool tips by browsing on this forum. Some of the earlier pages won't display poster photos because of an old Shutterfly update, but just keep looking forward on the newer pages .
Here