Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

An expirement in Tiki

Pages: 1 9 replies

D

After a long time of lurking on this forum I decided that it was time to finally register and make my own contribution.

I’m not sure what possessed me to attempt this but I have a lot of time on my hands and for some reason my last trip into this particular are of the message forums inspired me to make an attempt at my own Tiki carving.

Background… Well in regards to carving… none… zip… zero. Other than widdling sharp pointy sticks with a pocket knife, I have never carved a piece of wood. I have not even planed a door to fit into a door jam. I am a total and complete newbie to this.

This is how new I am to this… I know that I need a piece of wood to carve into (I’m not stupid)… I have no idea of what to do once I have it.

How hard can it be, right? (famous last words I know)

As I mentioned, I have the time to try it and I have two chisels in my tool chest (I think that I still do) and a few hammers laying around somewhere. What the hell, once I find some wood and I can start carving myself a Tiki with zero cost to me.

Three days ago ... I tell my girlfriend that I want to carve a Tiki and that if she finds a stump of wood laying on the side of the road somewhere, let me know where it is. After giving me a look of “God, not another project that will never get finished.” She humors me and tells me that she will keep an eye out. I also spread the word to a few of my friends that if they see a tree stump that they should give me a call.

Two days ago … After running some errands with my girlfriend and a trip to the bar to play some GoldenTee, we happen across some ‘Palm Tree Road Kill’ on the side of the road. I totally missed it but my girlfriend, being the trooper that she is, spotted it and told me to turn around.