Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Carvings by Louie the Fish!

Pages: 1 21 replies

Aloha Ya'll from sunny Honolulu!
I am new to this site so thought I might try to post some pics of the sort of carving I have been doing to earn a crust for the past 38 years. There is an Opah or Moonfish in gold pearl shell, an Albatross with pearl beak and feet, an assortment of my fish pendants including a famous Hawaiian Tiki form, the Lei Niho Palaoa, and an assortment of my fishhook replicas, with a Rarotongan black pearl hook and a Tahitian Gold pearl hook in the center, plus bone, black jade and green jade Hawaiian hooks. My website at http://www.louiethefish.com has a lot more pics, and soon it will have a whole new look. I like carving fish most of all. All the work pictured is mostly sold, but I have a stock of all types of hooks and make anything else on commission. I sell my bone fish for $ 100, and hooks range from $ 40 to over $100. I posted other pics in the Ohana Tiki area also. Hope you all like the work!
Tightlines, Louie

Incredible!
Keep posting!

T

Haven't seen your site yet, but this is really nice stuff you posted. Let's see some more. How about some works in progress?

B

I really like your work! Welcome to TC and please keep posting photos of what you make.

Much Aloha!

P
Paipo posted on Thu, Aug 14, 2008 3:49 PM

Beautiful work - those hooks look deadly and fully functional! The wildlife studies are spot-on too, in particular the albatross. It sounds like you've already lived my dream or travelling the Pacific, carving as you go. Your site says you were in Pago Pago, but your profile and post say Hawaii now?
I'd love to get some tips on carving pearl shell if you have time...

Alright Louie! Ya made it to the party!!! Put your fez on and join right in! I guess Benz n' I got the password thing worked out. Sweet.