Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Marketplace

Would really like some feedback

Pages: 1 14 replies

Aloha!
Tyler from neptune beach here. New to the forums and trying to get some feedback from some folks that know the subject. I am a sculptor down here in florida. I've been a chef for 20 years and have done some ice sculpting - now working in palm wood (i've always loved tiki art since I grew up on the beach) I have a new website set up at http://tikisbytyler.com Someone please respond - I need feedback!
Here are a few samples:

On 2008-09-23 13:47, tikisbytyler wrote:
Aloha!

Your style looks familiar...

In my opinion, tiki and the Grateful Dead are not something that should be combined.

S

It's clear that you, like most in Florida, have been exposed to the Mai Tiki style of Wayne Coombs. If he saw your work, he might come after you! :wink: Just never put a pineapple on the forehead. Wayne really hates when people do that. He started doing that first.

That said, your work looks like a lot of other Florida carvers and all goes back to Wayne. If that's what is selling, okay, but, you should really consider a different style. No goofy teeth and lips. It's all very old for us here. The same face on a log with some little thing that makes it different from that one, be it a team logo or other symbol. It's been done to death.

If anyone here is going to buy a carving like that, they'd go to Wayne and get the original.

[ Edited by: Swanky 2008-09-24 09:47 ]