Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Someone please reply?

Pages: 1 14 replies

Aloha!
Tyler from neptune beach here. New to the forums and trying to get some feedback from some folks that know the subject. I am a sculptor down here in florida. I've been a chef for 20 years and have done some ice sculpting - now working in palm wood (i've always loved tiki art since I grew up on the beach) I have a new website set up at http://tikisbytyler.com Someone please respond - I need feedback!
Here are a few samples:

TT

Tiki Trav's Opinion of the Day:

I think you are on the right track and clearly have the required carving skills, however, I feel that your designs could use some work... more style and less big teeth would help... cruise the carving thread on here (where this should have been posted) and find inspiration from all the other stuff happening on here... The more you learn, the more you will understand what makes a nice classy tiki and what is a smiling log with big teeth.. You are off to a good start so let's see your carvings evolve..

Regards..
TT

AWSOME !....I dig it !
now being that they are a start are ya sellin em cheap ?lol

T

I agree with Tiki Trav.

Also, I'm not sure the Grateful Dead logo is any place for a tiki...that's just me tho'.

On 2008-09-23 14:41, tikiyaki wrote:
I agree with Tiki Trav.

Also, I'm not sure the Grateful Dead logo is any place for a tiki...that's just me tho'.

Yeah,the Steal Your Face was a special request. Probably was a little too sell out for me.

TM

Grateful dead = great evil and the death of tiki culture of the 50's. Please don't ever use it again!!

Otherwise, stuff looks great! I wish I had your talent!