Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Granite Tiki, and other odd things from the kiltedTiki

Pages: 1 45 replies

Hello, I’m I new poster, but a long time reader ( or as some call it “lurker”) I have been carving granite for about two years off and on, when I can find the time. Here are a few of my granite Tiki’s. I’ll post more later.
Trying to get the hang of the posting thing.

[ Edited by: KiltedTiki 2009-02-23 07:30 ]

[ Edited by: KiltedTiki 2009-03-28 20:00 ]

[ Edited by: KiltedTiki 2009-05-31 14:33 ]

here are a few more, they are carve in a gray granite using grinders, each one is done in about 2-3 hours, with a lot of dust flying.

Well catching on to "how to post photo's so here are some more,

The line up,

next a non tiki With grinding and rock pitching

a working photo of the KiltedTiki

If you would like to see more let me know.

Dig it, man!
I see a lot of grinders around, can I see a shot of what else you use & maybe a progression?

B

Excellent stuff. I'm sure when you get up to speed with posting. we will see how you are making these cool dudes! Welcome to Tiki Central.

On 2008-11-04 17:54, KiltedTiki wrote:

If you would like to see more let me know.

Kia ora KiltedTiki, welcome to TC!

Ive done a bit of stone carving but never on such a large scale as this! We have a lot of different granite boulders in the rivers/creeks around our way & Id be very keen to hear/see a bit more of a technical rundown on your tools and methods. Ive been saying for a long time that Id like to tool-up for larger work in stone and you might be just the person to set it in motion..

Thanks for sharing your work, its obvious you have spent some time at it. Cheers

Exceptional work! Keep up the great tiki's.

Thanks for the kind words,