Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

New Guy

Pages: 1 9 replies

Here is my story...
I have been into tiki's for a long time but never put my hand on a chisel. I took a vacation down to the coast of Texas and meet an old drunk guy selling them on the side of the road. He wanted a killing for work that wasn't so great that he made in 30 minutes. I came back home and tried it myself after that. I seem to not be going in the direction that I want , due to Texas hardwoods and I am still learning. I am not to happy with the direction but the local people and friends can't seem to get enough of what I am doing and I can't keep up due to time. I like to make them for charitable events and they seem to be a hit. I did one for a local Red Cross Car Show for Hurricane Ike Victims , One for a Local Toyrun Raffle and a raffle for a friend thats going to Iraq to raise money for a care package for him. I have a waiting list that I can't keep up with but like I said I'm looking for the direction I can not find as you can see.
Here are some pics , please comment.
Thanks Scotty
1st one I did

[ Edited by: drasticwagon 2008-12-27 20:34 ]

Hey D,
Welcome to TC. I like your stuff already. Real bold look with lots of neat influences in each piece. Like the primitive look. You'll probably be hearin' from the A team soon. (Benzart, tucson tiki, and about 10 others)
I'm just a beginner too, started late, but keep reading the posts and you'll get valuble stuff. I'm getting some cottonwood soon, some say it sucks, but I know a Navajo that carves beautiful Kachinas from it , so Ill give it a try.
Hey, it looks like you got the right direction,... check out other works and let it adapt to your style. Good luck with your care package, I know for a fact what it means to get stuff from home.
Ciao

so cool keep up the good work and just have fun