Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

researching the Tiki Room

Pages: 1 2 replies

Hello all-

After a few weeks of checking out the website, I figured I should join. I am a graduate student and currently researching the Tiki Room at Disneyland. I am mainly focused on the music that is featured and the Tiki Room as a soundscape of post-war US. I have all of the songs and I know a lot of the history, however it is so difficult to track down any information about the recordings that were used for the original show.

I really need to get the LP, it is always on Ebay, but for some reason, I have not seen it lately, if anyone has a copy of the album, please let me know. Or at least please xerox the liner notes for me. Everything is so protected at Disney and the musicians from the studio are not even listed ---it is all Imagineeing lol.

Great to know a place like this exists! Please take care and write me back if you can point me in the right direction. Thank you- MA

T

I am far from being an expert on Walt Disney's Enchanted Tiki Room, but maybe I can offer some information that will point you in other directions you can explore.

I'm sort of surprised that you are having difficulty in finding a copy of the album. A few years ago Disney made several of the classic Disneyland Records albums available on CDs on demand at Disneyland. (Not sure about the availability at Walt Disney World.) The Tiki Room album was one that you could get, but I'm not sure these are still available at the parks. (The B-Side, if you didn't already know, is Walt's narration of the Jungle Cruise.)