Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Basic beginner questions

Pages: 1 13 replies

C

Hello every one, Chris from Detroit here and this is my first post. I have lots of questions about carving tiki. I have never carved anything but i have always enjoyed working with my hands and have enjoyed dabbling with my artistic side. I have also been intrested in tiki for a long time and I happened to be lucky enough to stumble upon TC. I plan to work up in size from hand held size tiki to the full size tiki.

Since I am an extreme novice, The questions I have are:

1. What tools/equipment should I get? I have heard that its not practical to buy a set of carving tools as most of them are not going to be used. Is this true? Either way which set is recomended and/or what tools should I get.
    2.Where do I get these tools? Can I get them at Sears or Lowes?
    3.How do I go about sharpening the tools as needed? Getting a professional or doing it myself?
    4.How do you give your tiki an "ancient" look? (with the darker color in the deeper sections). I've heard people use a torch, paint etc.
    5.How to you find wood? Should I get it at Home Depot or Lowes? I live in Michigan and in my area, its not very common to find stumps of wood being thrown out or free for the taking.
    6.What type of wood should I use being that I have never tried any carving before this?

I would rather buy quality tools/equipment/material than buy cheap products that will give me poor results. I am not a rich guy, I would rather get the job done right than cheaply.(Not looking for top of the line either, just some decent products for a beginner.

Are there any recomendations as to where I can get some basic lessons in wood carving? I have looked into the community center and colleges in the area. They have nothing to offer.