Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Permit exemption for Tiki/Chickee huts in Florida

Pages: 1 15 replies

There have been several recent articles in Florida newspapers regarding Tiki/Chickee huts.
It appears that you do not need a permit (but you still have to follow zoning)
IF
Your hut is constructed by either the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida or the Seminole Tribe of Florida.

Kind of a nice touch since I hear that they use building methods passed down from generation to generation.

If you live in Florida, this might be a good thing to know if you are in one of those rule heavy communities.

I am not a construction lawyer nor do I play on on TV.

Check your local laws.

Permits..... Bah. Never use em'... With all the local Govt budget cuts nobody's looking anyway.

T

Permit not necessary .... it's a open air structure

You probably have more problems if your community is deed restricted. Some of the 'neighborhood watch' just hate it if you're having more fun than they are.

The State of Florida building law also states that you can not have electric or plumbing in the hut constructed by the indians(without a permit). So just have a licensed building contractor to make it for you, like me. Tiki Mike 321-626-2434
Mahalo

Check with your local government as well..... In Hollywood you have to have a permit if it is a permanent structure regardless of who built it.

I got around that by redesigning my idea and not attaching it to the ground. Since it could be moved (yeah right!) I didn't have to have a permit.

Here it is almost done. (pix from 04)

O

Is this why there are several thousand tiki bars in Florida? I know about the Mai Kai, how about a look at some of the others.

G

On 2009-05-30 09:02, Ojaitimo wrote:
Is this why there are several thousand tiki bars in Florida? I know about the Mai Kai, how about a look at some of the others.