Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Makau Carving Lashing etc

Pages: 1 5 replies

D
Dagon posted on Sat, Jun 20, 2009 7:12 AM

Hi, I am new to TC and relatively new to bone carving, though not to carving in general.
I would like to get some input on a few things I have been struggling with in reference to finding the right cord for both lashing and the necklace itself. while I have read every post on or relating to the topic and searched online for nearly a year for the right materials they have eluded me thus far.

which brings me to the question at hand... besides every single bead website, every store and manufacturer of poly/nylon cord I have searched thus far... anyone know a place to procure this elusive stuff?

I am sure there is some level of secrecy involved about it though because no one wants someone else to post a website and create yet another competitor, so let me put these fears at ease. I have no intention of ever selling my carvings. while I do enjoy the smell of burning bone and at the start of this journey my intention was merely to possess one rather than drooling at every one I see, and well it was a nice gift for my brother as well.

picture of my latest at the bottom. comments, advice are always welcome.

Pm me if you happen to know a place to get the cord! thanks

post your work if you want, I always love to see what everyone can do!

Hey Dagon,
Welcome to the carving forum.
I have been carving bone a lot the past days and I to was having a hard time in the cord department.
Since i'm not from around where you live I can't help you with a place to buy the right cord.
But I did find that any cord they sell at the beads shops is fine for making a cord.
You just need to braid it and lash it to the pendant.
There is some info on that in the Bone thread here.
http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=23134&forum=7&61