Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Just getting into carving.

Pages: 1 32 replies

Hello, I was pointed to tiki central from my tattoo artist who also does tiki carving. I am amazed by some of the work on here and am happy to be a member. Seeing all the different styles and techniques motivates me to improve. I have just recently begun tiki carving and really enjoy it. I am such a fan of the style that I just went to New Zealand to see it done first hand at a carving school in Rotorua. On my trip I also found a bone and jade carving studio in Hokatika. It was called Bonz and Stonz. Steven the owner was great and I carved my first piece of greenstone. Anyways I am going to post one of my latest tikis that I carved out of cypress and let me know what you think. I am a mural artist and faux finisher by profession and try and do the carving when I have time.Thanks

[ Edited by: tatumantiki 2010-03-23 12:21 ]

Welcome to TC! Glad to have a new member. Your tiki looks great for a new carver. You got some talent. Keep'um coming.

I think you've done this before! Great way to introduce yourself. Can't wait to see more of your work. A trip to NZ is on my List of Things To Do When I Win the Lotto.

T

Vary nice And wlcome
there is nothing but inspiration here!
Cant wait to see more!

Thanks for the complements. I will try to get some more done soon.

welcome to tc!!! very sweet tiki and unique style!!! luv it lets see sum more!!!!! cheerz!!

S

Welcome! I thinks he looks great! Nice work.

Welcome, welcome. That is a beauty, for a first tiki. It's all upwards here on out for you my friend. Got a pic of your carving from NZ?

L

Great work for your first! Welcome on TC!

J.

Thanks again everyone. This isn't my first tiki but the first one I actually put some time into. I will try and get a pic of my jade pendant up soon.

B