Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Lente's Work

Pages: 1 11 replies

L
Lente posted on Sat, Feb 19, 2011 6:47 AM

This is my first attempt at a carve. It's done in a piece of driftwood I found out back. I have no idea what kind of wood it is, except that it is very hard and did not smell of evergreen.
I am not sure how to finish it. The local hardware store has marine varnish, which seems to be the consensus around TC. I'm thinking of just varnishing it without any stain.
I'm concerned, specifically, about the effect of fresh water rain in the ship-worm holes as he is going outside when finished.
Anyone have any experience on this?

[ Edited by: Lente 2011-02-27 15:11 ]

L
Lente posted on Sun, Feb 27, 2011 3:06 PM

After experimenting, I have determined that marine varnish does indeed seal up shipworm holes.

Been practicing a bit, completed a few more pieces. Lots of lessons learned along the way. Figured I would post them in this thread rather than clog up the carving forum with double entries.

This was my second attempt at carving a tiki:

I call him phallus face for the obvious reason.
Lessons learned here: 1. Rough surfaces left by chisels and then poorly sanded suck up stain, giving the appearence of a painted surface. 2. Thick layers of varnish do not dry well.

This was my third attempt:

Lessons learned here: 1. Put the tiki face down on something soft when sanding the back, not your work table.

This was my wife's first attempt at a carve:

Lessons she learned: Keep your gripping hand away from the chisels. We made a trip to the ER to have a doctor sew up her thumb.

The trio:

The thumb, almost healed now:

L

Welcome on TC Lente! Keep carving and take care of your fingers, that's your best tools in this universe... :roll: