Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

The S.S. Redwood: Mobile Tiki Bar

Pages: 1 8 replies

This is a project I've been working on for a while that debuted at Mojave Oasis. The idea was to create a mobile Tiki bar for beach parties, Tiki gatherings, etc. As this is my first attempt at carpentry it's a bit rough and still in progress, but I think it came together fairly well.

Rough cut redwood planks for the deck, wheelbarrow carriage/cooler behind:

Stained planks (used one coat of stain and wiped off excess with paper towels for subtler color):

Finished planks secured and lacquered (bottom of deck, the perpendicular pieces fit snugly inside the wheelbarrow and keep the deck from shifting around):

Lacquered deck with hatch installed (Wink by Scootiki in background):

The S.S.Redwood assembled at Mojave Oasis (9 foot diameter palapa umbrella, grass skirts to cover wheelbarrow, hula girl):

...with some furniture by Eric the Red:

Beneath the palapa at the helm (where the bartender sits), hatch to access cooler (rum, limes) in foreground, accoutrements in rigging (more to come in that respect):

The Redwood in action and me mixing grog:

The next step is to finish decorating the deck (rope banister?), making bamboo stools that fold up and hang from the sides of the deck, lining he inside of the wheelbarrow to insulate and hold ice better, and maybe replacing the grass skirt with some nicer palapa.

-Redwood Tiki

Brilliant! Great job on the portable bar. My only concern would be tipsy imbibers fumbling the drinks on the slope of the deck, it'd be a shame to waste rum that way. Still, it's a truly inspired creation. Congratulations.

Bear