Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Help my Drink Menu

Pages: 1 23 replies

Hello. This is my first post here. I am fairly new to the world of Tiki compared to most of you all. I am opening a new Sports Bar & Grill and I want to pay tribute to the original Tiki Bars of the 1940s & 1950s & the "summer sports" (surfing, sand volleyball, etc) by including some of the most famous "tiki drinks". I am trying to be as close to the original recipe as possible so I don't offend aficionado. I have these "Tiki drinks" & recipes already on the menu:

Mai Tai
Navy Grog
Zombie (DB's 1950s version)
Blue Hawaiian
Scorpion
Hula Girl
Mojito

I am looking for about 4 more "classic" recipes. Pina Coladas, Daiquiris, Martinis, & Margaritas are listed elsewhere on the drink menu. Any suggestions or sources will be appreciated.

Thank you!
Ray

Welcome to Tiki Central Ray, where are you located?

On 2011-07-11 11:17, MadDogMike wrote:
Welcome to Tiki Central Ray, where are you located?

I live in Arkansas. I own a pizza joint in South Arkansas and will be opening up a second location as well as developing this concept in a neighboring city -- we hope! Negotiations with developers are later this week, but either way, we will eventually open up this concept.

Just look to any of "Beachbum Berry's" cocktail books
it is our Bible!

Check out the menus from Tiki Ti, Forbidden Island, Trader Vic's, Don the Beachcomber....it's all there on the internets.

Good luck to you.

J

Here are my four suggestions:

Rum Barrel
Lapu-Lapu
Leilani Volcano
Scorpion

Hope that helps!

Hi Ray, and welcome! I've found that the Shrunken Skull and the Doctor Funk (using orange bitters instead of Pernod, or just omitting the Pernod entirely) are good additions to a tiki repertoire - they're on the lighter, sweeter side and are great for people who prefer that flavor profile.