Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Tiki Carvings - jbensch

Pages: 1 2 49 replies

J

I'm pretty new to carving tiki's but here are a few examples. I'm still working on the large one, it needs quite a bit of detailing.

Comments are surely welcome.

I have a few more - considerably smaller made from aged maple from my backyard...I'll post a few more pictures soon.

Thanks for looking.

[ Edited by: jbensch 2012-06-22 04:44 ]

Wow nice work can't wait for the detail work.

J

This one was a request for a friend.

I used some dry maple from the yard.

Mapped out:

Finished:

T

Nice carves. They're lookin good. Should finish out nicely.

S

well done! dont stop!

Those look excellent!

C
Cljha posted on Mon, Jun 4, 2012 12:20 AM

Good work, I really dig the smaller one on the first pic and the maple one.
Out of curiosity, do you use the flexcut carving knife then the flexshaft (see on the last picture) for sanding?

Christophe

BTW, welcome on Tiki Central

[ Edited by: Cljha 2012-06-04 00:24 ]

J

Thanks Cljha! Yep, I use the regular Flexcut KN12 for everything but chipping out the open mouth and then sand with the mini-sand head and emory paper. I've been trying to figure out the proper speed for sanding...anything above 5 seems way too fast.

J

Just another small one I made from the dried maple:

I was given some dried cherry but my poor chisels can't seem to bite through easily. They lose their edge after just a few cuts. Hopefully I'll have some pics to share soon.

Thanks for looking!

P

dude, those are VERY good for early efforts....way better than my firsties for sure...

keep 'em comin', and welcome to the party...

C
Cljha posted on Tue, Jun 5, 2012 11:24 AM

I understand you on the cherry, it is a superb wood, but very demanding on the tools. I had my first try recently :wink:
Good luck

Be Water
Christophe

[ Edited by: Cljha 2012-06-05 11:26 ]