Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

underground tiki

Pages: 1 16 replies

yup - I'm new at this and am just doing my homework for my first tiki. I apologize in advance if tis has been covered, but I searched these (massive) archives and cannot find what I'm looking for. I live in Florida (USA) and picked up a couple of palm tree trunks a while back, planning on carving them into tikis. I hope to begin work very soon and I want to "plant" them in the ground - so, do I need to treat the bottom part of the palm (that's going into the ground) with anything in particular to help preserve it? Thanks in advance! John

Where in Fl.?

DeLand, FL (between Orlando and Daytona Beach). I was thinking about using roofing tar - but I could be way off baase with that . . .

[ Edited by: johnrussellcox 2013-02-23 05:15 ]

Na, tar won't work.
Palms don't do well in the ground for long.
I wana see the carving first,
Then we'll figure out displaying it.
What are you going to carve?

Hey Will Carve, I've wanted to "carve my own" for a while, since I toured Mai Tiki's shop several years back in Cocoa Beach, FL. So I managed to salvage a couple of palm trunks (sabal I think) last summer and have been staring at them ever since. I'm not even sure these palms will work out - they're thin - about a foot across and 8 feet long . . . I wanted to carve them and stick 'em in the ground in the garden, but then again, not knowing anyting about this that may just be a dumb idea (concrete?). Another question: do I need to remove the "bark" before the actual carving? I'm glad I discovered this BB - great resource - thanks!

P

well, there's really no need to stick them IN the ground unless you're worried about 'em gettin' jacked. They don't exactly blow over easily...lol...