Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Adventures in art - Woodtiki makes things

Pages: 1 28 replies

W

I thought it was about time I posted some of my art/sculptures/paintings to see what the true tiki masters have to say...

I've been making art for quite a few years now, everything from children's book illustration to murals, logos and brochures to landscape paintings. Lately I'm very much on a tiki kick and loving it! I have a few shows coming up this year and want to put a lot of my new tiki/exotic/jungle/poly artwork in them.

First thing I wanted to show was this little mini tiki guy I listed in my Etsy shop, you can see/buy them here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodyMart . I had a booth at the Bay Area Maker Faire a couple weeks ago, brought these and sold out of them the first day! So I made some more.

Here is "Fat Lip"

And here is "The Guardian"

Here are a few of them with a can to show size.

More painting to show soon, and you can check my website for more of my art http://www.woodymillerart.com . I've been slowly adding tiki themed items. I'm even working on sculpting a couple mugs and will be trying my first slip mold creation this weekend!
Anyway, thanks so much for looking and I hope to hear from you, and 'meet' some of you soon. Aloha!

Woody
http://www.woodymillerart.com

[ Edited by: woodtiki 2013-06-12 08:29 ]

[ Edited by: Woodtiki 2013-06-18 08:26 ]

Okay, you DID ask what we think, and no I DON'T claim to be a Tiki Master, but here's what I think.

The first one is KINDA going in a Tiki direction, but IMO is equally going in the direction of Cornholio, which was what popped into my head as soon as I saw your pic. Sorry, but I'm being honest.

The second one is much more Tiki-like, a very discernible Moai. I would like it better without that swiss cheese on the bottom, and without that lipstick coming out the top of his head.