Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Some of my Tiki carvings

Pages: 1 24 replies

Hey all! Just recently found this forum. I am amazed at some of the awesome work you guys are doin!! Lots of inspiration:)
My name is Jim Haggart. I've been carving with a chainsaw full time for about 18 years now. I'm located in NY state.
I carve all kinds of animals but nothing would make me happier than to carve Tikis full time. ....I be sick of makin bears!!
But here's a few pics of my recent Tikis

G

Wow. Some awesome work. Welcome to tiki central.

Great stuff. Welcome aboard.

Great stuff. Welcome aboard.

C
cy posted on Fri, Aug 30, 2013 12:04 PM

SCARY! Nice work Jim, burn all bears.

T

That's some skills! Welcome. What kind of logs are those?

On 2013-08-30 12:04, cy wrote:
burn all bears.

AHEM!

Something wrong with bears?

Jim,

First off, welcome to Tiki Central.

I can certainly understand wanting to branch out and try new things, "same old, same old" gets pretty boring after a bit. It looks like you've been influenced by the "Florida Aesthetic." Just a heads up, some folks really like it, and some don't care for it at all and prefer more traditional styles, some like brightly painted tikis, others hate them, so please don't run way if you hear a critical word or two on your tikis.

You have skills, and from what I see in that first pic, you carve a damn nice bear (I happen to be rather fond of bears), maybe one day I'll order one from you.

Hey guys.....thanks so much for the compliments!,...
I actually don't paint all my tikis that brightly. The triplet group was an order for a customer and he wanted them to look freaky:)

The three are made out of sassafras logs. The single first tiki is Virginia juniper(red cedar).

Here's two tikis that i made today.