Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Travel

December TIki Trip SW

Pages: 1 8 replies

Howdy,

I am a long time lurker but first time poster. I have been collecting tiki mugs and such for a few years now. So to the meat and poi of it then. My wife and I will be driving from our home in Austin to visit her folks in San Diego this Christmas. Since we will be without our son (Grammie is flying out with him a little later) we have the chance to stop and enjoy some Tiki locations. I was already thinking Kon-Tiki in Tucson (on Dec 20th) and Trader Sam's in Anaheim (on Dec 21st). Any place else folks could recommend en'route. Any tips or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

Aloha Mbird! Between Anaheim and San Diego Is Hapa J’s in the seaside town of San Clemente. Not Tiki but the place has pretty good Hawaiian grinds and the Mai Tai’s are certainly not Trader Vics 1944 style but tasty nonetheless. The Bali Hai on Shelter Island in San Diego is not to be missed. Best to visit at dusk and watch the city light up as night darkens the bay. Just beautiful! I think that you might enjoy walking through the Crowne Plaza at hotel circle (also San Diego). It’s not as “tiki”as back in the day but still, imho interesting and the bartender Chris makes good drinks and has a more than fair knowledge of the hotels history. Pm me if you wish and I’ll give you more tips -I don’t wanna bore the pants off the TC’ers that live out here. We are so fortunate to have so much (never enough) tiki in SoCal.

Don the Beachcomber in Sunset Beach of course!
it is only a half hour away from Trader Sam's (traffic permitting)