Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Events

Buying expedition to PNG collector in Bloomington, Indiana in March

Pages: 1 12 replies

S
Swanky posted on Wed, Oct 9, 2013 8:54 AM

I have been buying PNG stuff from this family since 2003.

An anthropologist who has been traveling around Polynesia since the 60s, he has been bringing back items to sell to fund his trips. The business has gotten bigger and bigger and they bring back a cargo container full at a time.

The next shipment should be available in Indiana March. I am planning to be there on a Saturday and spend some time shopping with him and wanted to open it up for others to join me. His prices are great and makes even better deals in person.

If you are interested, I'd suggest following this thread and dropping a note here as well.

There is a craft cocktail bar in Bloomington we may hit that night or Friday.

Open for ideas.

We need a head/car count and will make a meeting place to get us all there, etc. We can't nail down a date until the shipment clears customs.

UPDATE: Working on April 12th visit.

Mai-Kai Memories Series Custom ceramic mugs!

[ Edited by: Swanky 2014-03-07 09:43 ]

[ Edited by: Swanky 2014-03-07 09:44 ]

[ Edited by: swanky 2014-03-12 05:47 ]

Wow, talk about globalization of trade. Some island native carves something and a few months later it ends up in someone's living room or office building in Chicago.

Q
Q-tiki posted on Wed, Oct 9, 2013 7:58 PM

Depending on the date, I am definitely prepared to get in on that action.

I am very stoked about the possibilities.

S