Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

New to Tiki, how much should I pay for fountain

Pages: 1 12 replies

D

Hi all, my name is Don. I am new to all things tiki but I am wanting to put in a Tiki themed bar on my covered pation behind my house. I am looking at getting this tiki fountain at an auction this weekend and was wondering what would be the max I should pay for something like this? It looks pretty old and its 6ft tall, and thats main reason I like it. Money isnt an issue for me, just want to make sure I dont over pay.

http://www.auctionzip.com/Full-Image/1930619/fp1.cgi

Thanks!

Well the price of that just went up.

It is a cool one.
As far as price that's up to you really.

Lots o tiki people want to get tiki at a low low price then tell you how
it's worth way more than they paid.

I may see you there, Ha! I kid.
But say hi to TIKIDAVID if he see this he will be there bidding against you.
I'm sure he saw this already though.
Good Luck!

Welcome to TikiCentral. Good luck on your bidding. Please post more pics of this awesome fountain if you are lucky enough to get it.

Witco Mainlander fountain, looks complete, nice! I'd say it's worth $1,000, $1,500 is not skyhigh out of the realm, but these do not come up very often, so hard to "know" a price. But if price is not an issue for you, that would not be overpaying.

That's a great piece! I hope you get it.

TT

Did someone varnish it?

Yeah the color & the grain doesn't look right from the photo. Looks like it's been painted or coated with something..

T

Yeah, looks like someone did a "restore" on it - some of the burning may have been removed and some kind of matte varnish put on.

Still it's a freakin' WITCO FOUNTAIN - how cool is it that one comes up for sale! And possibly from the estate of the original owner?

Best of luck to all the bidders.