Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Aloha - new to the Tiki culture

Pages: 1 11 replies

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Tiki culture and have the bug pretty good now. I started collecting about 3 months ago and have learned a little bit here and there. Im up to 30 mugs/bowls etc now and was wondering if anyone could point me towards a good book that talks about collecting Tiki.

I am aware of Sven A. Kirsten's Book of Tiki already and know all about eBay. But a true price guide/information book seems to elude me.

Thank you one and all!
Cool Manchu

Another question for you Tiki Gods.

Does anyone know who Bill Coleman is/was?

The reason I ask is that I was fortunate enough to pick up a 1st printing hardback of Trader Vic's Book of Food and Drink (1946) for two bucks. When I brought it home, it was signed not only by Trader Vic himself in 1964, but by someone named Bill Coleman.

Could Mr. Coleman just be a person who gave the book to another and signed it? Could he have been the manager of one of the many Trader Vic restaurants?

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks!
Cool Manchu

Maybe he went camping with Trader Vic...
and welcome to Tiki Central.

Aloha Cool Manchu, there's no more informative guide to tiki mugs out presently than BOT. As to price guides, thus far tiki mug collectors have been spared an "authoritative" tiki mug price guide. IIRC there may be some pricing info in Hula Girls and Tiki Gods, but from what I understand the author reluctantly added both the pricing generally and the tiki section particulary to the book to appease the publisher. Additionally, that book was published in 2000, thus preceeding the more recent pricing cycles.

Okay that said, I think pricing guides are never really accurate. At best they're an optimistic snapshot of a period in time, at worst they're unscrupulous propoganda written by and for dealers to dupe buyers.