Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Practice Makes Progress. Have A Nice Day ( Laz)

Pages: 1 5 replies

N

Hello Tiki Central Other Crafts,

My name is Laz and I started carving tikis september last year, I have a Ice carving back ground and decided to start carving palms, So i started with the tiki designs they do here in florida, I have not done to many traditional tikis, I am a full time artist and its been quite a challenge considering i did not know anything about tiki or carving palms and wood,.

All my post are in tiki carving, and you can check out my thread on how i have developed the skill of tiki carving and how i have progressed ,

The reason I am moving to OTHER CRAFT is my hands hurt right now and some times my back. Carving 6 to 8 hours a day non stop is very hard on the body. I know i will not be able to work like this for long, Some carvers start carving smaller pendeants and things as they get older. Some paint . I have done my home work, only because this is how i make a living and i need to edjucate my self if i am to survive,

So I have decided to paint, I do not draw very well and I have never done a painting yet, I bought a starter kit so i can develop painting skills . I believe if i continue to make a name for my self as a carver i can also do paintings down the road, but i have to start now .

Tiki Central is how i learned about carving ,palms wood tools designs stain every thing I know as a carver i learned here,At Tiki Central,

So I am here at OTHER CRAFTS to learn and build relation ship with painters , I am excited and scared at the same time because I am so new. I am 46 years old and I have started my life all over again. I am off to a good start thanks to Tiki Central,

Thank you so much
Laz

Here is a link to the pictures of the carvings i made in one year, Please LIKE Face Book Artist Page!