Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Tiki Sams somewhere in 'Sunny' UK

Pages: 1 5 replies

T

Hello. May I firstly say, as some of our cousins over the pond there may say, some of the posts on here are freakin' awesome!!
So I am a complete noob when it comes to Tiki. I only came across the site when I was originally planning on redesigning my garden. I had a outdoor bar on my deck but as you can probably imagine, the weather here in Blighty, isn't always forgiving and so I decided to try to construct an all season bar. Then while looking for ideas I stumbled across this site as I wanted to do something different from a local english boozer.

This of course meant me doing some drastic redesigning at the bottom of my garden. I had some room, but not a lot. I felt that I could fit a building in that was 2.4x4.8m (8'x16') but because of planning restrictions I had to keep it below 2.1m (just under 7') as I was close to my boundary.

So I came up with the following plan. This is just the bottom half of my garden:

My plan was to use as much 'upcycled' materials as possible. Most of the timber came from packing crates from my job....

Being in the UK it's hard to get hold of some of the stuff that I need for tiki so eBay and google became my friend.

So the challenge began. I decided on trying to use as many recycled materials as possible.

I dug out to level up:

Then the footings:

A dry run:

Unfortunately had to skip forward a while:

First eBay window:

Pallet walls go up:

More pallet walls and the start of the 'veranda'

Temporary 'pretty-fying!!'

Temporary roof:

Jump forward some more and internal insulation, vapour membrane and internal fitting out:

Bar built and the fitting out begins:

The start of the Exotic part of the garden:

So as you can see, it's all still work in progress. Have some more photos soon and an update.

H