Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

TIKI TYPES?

Pages: 1 12 replies

Does anyone have a working list of the different types of tikis and their main characteristics that they could share? Something simple, like:
Ku: War God, etc.
I am a painter and printmaker and have been interested in the retro - lounge culture for a few years but only recently have started to make images specific to Tiki. I recently listed a linocut print on eBay and will be selling more in the future. Here is a link to the closed auction if any would care to see the image:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3544045531&category=20158&rd=1

If anyone wishes to know more about my prints or printmaking in general feel free to email me. Thanks to all for any info you may submit on the TIKI TYPES question!

Hey! I didn't order a first post Spam wrapped in a question!

oh brother have you stepped into it now! I know from doing research on tiki for my fanzine, that this is hard to answer. Why? because when you say tiki you are dealing with all of polynesian cultures... samoan, hawaiian, tahitian etc. And to further confuse things, the legends of their gods tend to overlap each other, some say this or that detail, some don't, some gods go under the same names but mean a different god to that culture (tonguroa for instance, isnt necessarily the father of all gods and goddeses, and sometimes even looks like a giant octopus or squid). Its very indepth research.. trust me. It may be better if you stick to one certain polynesian culture for a given project, and use only that mythos for that project. If I can remember the names of some of the books I used for research I will come back and post them.
Nice art by the way, I like the way you do the woodblock sort of style, and the background is a nice touch! :)

K