Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

I need a NAVAN vanilla liqueur substitute

Pages: 1 6 replies

Navan is no longer available and I have read licor 43 would be fine or even mcgillicuddys vanilla split with brandy. Not sure what to go with. If navan was available I would just buy a 750. But with the other 2 I mentioned I probably wouldn't buy a 750ml of licor 43 unless it's the closest to navan

[ Edited by: myrongainesbrah 2018-01-28 10:38 ]

I have been chasing a sub for Navan for a few years now. I have seen for sale, but have not bought, some of the remaining stock. Some bought bottles cheap when they halted production, and they are now selling for upwards of $100/bottle. You may have read a few of my posts on non-tiki web sites where I and others have discussed what to substitute with in place of Navan.

Ultimately the solution depends entirely on how EXACT you want to duplicate the Navan either straight or in a cocktail. If this is a requirement for you, then your best bet may be to experiment with one of the several home-made recipes or blends that others have posted. If this is not a requirement, then it may truly be as simple as mixing McGillicuddy's with a French brandy or French cognac. On the other hand, you may be quite happy with McGillicuddy's or Meukow. (Meukow is pronounced "moo-koff") I do not think Licor 43 is a deep and true "vanilla liqueur," as it has many other flavoring ingredients but I read that the vanilla is very forward. Without knowing what the Navan tastes like, how could we be certain what to substitute? I have gone down this road and found myself at the mercy of others' descriptions of Navan's taste from their memories, or from their reports of tasting from the limited remaining stock.

My final approach and decision was based on these thoughts: