Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Exposed shelf brackets: help / suggestions, please

Pages: 1 10 replies

R
RichC posted on Mon, Apr 2, 2018 7:31 PM

Hello Everybody.

I am an admitted tiki amateur finishing up phase two of a home bar renovation. The small wet bar came with the house and it occupies an odd place just off the family room. It doubles as the corridor to our laundry room and garage. It makes a nice little bar, but as this space must remain a clear thoroughfare, I can't really build it out to any degree. In other words, the decor must all stick pretty flatly to the walls and I have done my best to give the space some dimension by building little arrangements on shallow shelves.

I am dissatisfied with the shelf brackets I have found available on-line and hoping someone can suggest a source or DIY plans for bamboo and/or other tiki-tropical shelf supports. One of my shelves is a weathered, whitewashed board with metal brackets I hoped would suggest salvage from a Victorian pineapple plantation house. They just look like they came from the hardware store (which, of course, they did).

The other brackets are special-order wrought iron from Etsy that are more convincing as shipwreck salvage but still not thoroughly satisfying. They'll look better when I black out the screw heads.

Oceanic Arts sells great rattan hangers that I have purchased and put to some use and several sources provide excellent trim. Where have you all found some luck with good tropical / tiki hardware, though: Shelf brackets, door knobs, door stops, light switch plates, etc.?

Amazon has some interesting stuff:

[Nice bamboo wall plate for a light switch

](https://amzn.to/2H90NKo)

[Nice bamboo wall plate for electric outlet

](https://amzn.to/2H6tPKq)

[Solid bamboo rail

](https://amzn.to/2GQbSC0)

Bamboo door knob