Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Possible Guanko tiki find?

Pages: 1 12 replies

Found this old tiki out in the city of Orange. The seller said it had been in her in-laws backyard for the last 40 years. Several details say “Milano” to me but I’m not an expert. In the BOT there’s photos showing Milan tikis with the same eyes, nose, mouth, etc...but I realize there must’ve been style copycats.
Can anyone confirm?

T

I am no expert on this but it is a nice tiki in pretty good condition for being in a yard for 40 years! I would first research all possible places around the area here on TC from 40 years ago, look for pics and see if any tikis look similar. Ideally you would want to find an old picture of the Tiki in an establishment. Spend some hours on TC looking for restaurants and apt complexes in the Socal area. For that matter, look at what places in Socal closed 40 years ago? Late 70s/early80s is when many a great places closed down - the Luau, Don the Beachcombers, etc...

Secondly, I would go to the source - Oceanic Arts and ask them what their thoughts are. They might have well carved it!!!

Nice find...

T

Also look up who has lived at the house where it was "in her in-laws backyard"
Could be someone with a connection to a Tiki bar/owner worker.

At the Kahiki they had a tiki that never went into the Kahiki but went to someone right when the Kahiki opened.
It was going to go in but for some reason did not.

So it may have been overflow from some tiki bar.

Ask the neighbors maybe they heard stories too.

Thanks for tips Tattoo & Skip!