Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Comrade’s Grotto

Pages: 1 26 replies

S
sparc posted on Sat, Aug 25, 2018 9:04 PM

I wanted to share the tiki bar my son and I have been building for the last 5 months. It’s small, 7’ x 9’ and about 60% complete. A friend who is a professional photographer shot the bar and that made me decide to share. You can find Carlos (photographer friend) on Instagram @crhla. Hope this lives up to some of the home tiki bars that inspired me.

[ima]https://tikicentral.com/uploads/42561/5b8225af.jpg[/img]

H
Hamo posted on Sat, Aug 25, 2018 10:48 PM

Welcome to TC! Your tiki room looks very good. I’m very interested to see how your father-son project develops.

Welcome Sparc. Nice! Keep dem posts/pix comiing.
Cheers

Nice, cozy, atmospheric space. That’s a cool Marquesan piece on the bar too.

S

Thank you for your comments and warm wlecome. I will add updates as they occur. Looking forward to adding masks and some pieces from Tki Tony and Bosko. The Marquesan piece was a gift several years ago and the two headed Tahitian piece I got from Islands Bamboo and Hawaiian Furniture in Westminster. Cool place.

It's gorgeous. Definitely a space to get lost in.

Wow! That's great! I love the lighting. Thanks for coming on and sharing it!

S
sparc posted on Sun, Aug 26, 2018 8:19 PM

The space is a great spot for relaxing after a long day. The lighting has gone through several iterations. My son Euan had the best ideas, the small LED tea lights in the storage crates for the tikis and putting a Christmas shimmering LED light from Target into the hanging float. It's nice and dark with nice moments of sparkle.

Holy hell that's good! If there were ever a place to lose yourself with a drink...

That's a killer build! Thanks for sharing it with us--please post more!

H

Yes! Definitely looking forward to seeing more of this.

S