Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Can't find tiki in Dallas

Pages: 1 46 replies

K

I live about 30 miles outside of Dallas. I'm very new to collecting tiki and have to admit most of my purchases have been on eBay. I would prefer discovering tiki in the wild but have been to every thrift shop and Goodwill store in the area and have found NOTHING. Most garage sales I've seen have been pretty lame...anyone have any ideas of where else I can look? Anyone ever found anything in the Dallas area?

Gotta go check my eBay bids now....

:drink:

I have bad luck with garage sales in Birmingham too... search through your paper's online classifieds for particular neighborhoods where older folks live, and search for "estate sale"
...I've had a lot of luck w/ estate sales, the main challenge for me is getting up early enough on Saturday to make them :)

Are you atheist, agnostic, deist, pantheist, transcendentalist... Meet people who share your interest in rational religion in your town.
http://universist.meetup.com

There is a vintage/modern shop in Dallas/Ft. Worth (not that familiar with the area)

that had a MOUNTAIN of tikimugs when i was there a few years ago. This place had been there a long time and was just LOADED with stuff.. religious figurines, modern dishware, etc etc a pretty big place just crammed with stuff. Maybe others know of this spot- I often wish i could hit it again. I came out of there with like 10 mugs.

K

Wow! That sounds like just what I'm looking for. Do you remember the location? Near any big landmarks?

There's a new bar opening up in Dallas (I'll tell them to post the name, etc. when they open) that is going to have Surf, Tiki, type theme with a Bamboo Ben portable bar and some art etc. too. Shipping next week.

K

Praise Lono!

I'm ecstatic to hear Dallas is getting SOMETHING tiki. Keep us posted please.