Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

ANOTHER ONE: Robert Palmer R.I.P.

Pages: 1 14 replies

You konw, I can't say I was much of a fan of his music, but the alarming rate at which musicians are dropping off (Wesley Willis, Warren Zevon, Johnny Cash) these days really makes me want to quit the business before my number comes up.

Hey Alice, do you want to go to Real Estate school with me or something? This music thing is too dangerous for me...

BTW, ol' Bob Plamer kicked it in Paris of a heart attack.
My sympathies to his friends, fans, and family.

Hmm, you speak the truth, Tikibars! But we can both at least TRY and fool the Fates: you can say you're just a writer, and I that I'm just a teacher. And since Clouseaux has seen fit to kick out all of us girls and return to straighter jazz, I could tell Death when he's come a-knockin' that I'm "bandless" and therefore ineligible for early pickings now!

The eerie "they always go in threes" theory strikes again.

1. Robert Palmer
  2. Famous writer George Plimoton
  3. Stanely Fafara "Whitey" from the Leave It To Beaver Show.

RIP

T

He sure knew how to make a music video. Of course, I'm referring to "Addicted to Love".

All I know is, that with Buddy Ebsen and John Ritter passing away this year... we should all be thinking very good thoughts for Don Rickles and Rip Taylor.

K

I was a fan of the pre "Addicted To Love" RP. "Sneakin' Sally Through The Alley," "Clues""Bad Case..." etc. I thought The Power Station was pure crap. Not sure what he's been up to lately but still sorry to see him go. How old was he...54? Too young.
:drink:

PS - I predict either Reagan or Ford will check out before years end.