Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / California Events

If you like the Cal Tikis, check this out.

Pages: 1 6 replies

After seeing and enjoying the cool groves and tasty chops of the Cal-Tikis, I realized these dudes were of the Jazz influence. So with that said, and understanding that this doesn't really coincide with the whole Tiki thing, I thought I'd let you all know about a rare musical event coming to Catalina's Bar and Grill in Hollywood. One of two of the greatest drummers alive is playing Tues, Wed, and Thurs night. His name is Dave Weckl and it's the Dave Weckl Band. As a drummer myself, I highly recommend this gig to anyone who would like to experience the ultimate in High Performance, Nitro Burning, Tire Smoking Jazz Fusion. Most people leave with with their jaws on the floor after getting to see a true phenomenon at work. Besides, even though this is lacking a tiki theme, from what I've seen, Tiki is where ever you want to be.

That's an interesting leap - from the Cal-Tiki's to Weckl.....I started the Tiki's to entertain my jazz sensibilities and wrap them in the cloak of "exotica"

Dave's a friend/colleague of mine, we played together on some record dates in the late 80s-early 90s. He's a monster drummer for sure!

Just curious...who is the other (greatest living) drummer that you alluded to in your post?

Ginger Baker?