Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

what makes good tiki art"

Pages: 1 33 replies

F

im interested in your opinions as tiki collectors,what do you look for in a" good "tiki painting is it the feel of the piece ?balance of color"?"true tiki"realism?im always looking to improve my work and i see some work that is not as tight as i like to paint [on other websites].not everybody paints the same but some work looks "too loose" i hope that didnt sound crappy but its just my observationt.thanks for any responses,matt

K

In a perfect world all artists, professional & amateur, would just paint to please themselves. Since I'm an amateur I have that freedom, but professionals have to earn a living.

As a collector who may buy from a professional, here's what I would look for in a tiki painting (of course not everyone has the same taste):

Not an entire rainbow of color in one painting - mainly browns & tans with a few touches of vibrant accent color - or mainly blues with a few vibrant touches (such as August Holland's Pearl of Wisdom). Mainly reds and oranges might be interesting too.

I would be interested in buying a painting that set an exotic, other-worldly mood. I like it better when the mood is set subtly rather than with hundreds of intricate details.

Lastly, as a practical matter, I would have to consider size and shape of the canvas before purchasing. I'm very particular that an object looks like it belongs in the room and belongs exactly where I put it. Are there enough "sofa size" tiki paintings on the market? If not, that might be something to consider.

I have to say that I really like every single painting I've ever seen posted on Tiki Central - I love all the color and detail if I'm "just browsing". But if I were actually going to buy something it would probably have to fit the above descriptions.

HL

Very nice suggestions.