Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Play'n with Stain

Pages: 1 24 replies

TM

I went a little too dark on this guy. Oh well, maybe next time. This guy is solarized, his eyes glow orange at night...provided he gets some sunshine of course.

Now I like that one, Mon..that's got some mana..give me full body every time. I think dark is good...it says "old and weathered".

[ Edited by: Basement Kahuna on 2003-11-16 14:24 ]

YEAH! I like this one too. Dark is good...

T

the blacker the berry the sweeter the juice! I dig it too, it looks mo' authentic, and less florida.

Hi. I'm new here. I've been carving away on my first tiki for a couple of months. I will post a picture of the finished product eventually.

What tools are you guys using to carve with?

TM

Mr. Chevere,
Welcome, bruddah! Everyone probably has his or her own favorite tool. When you are first starting out sometimes it's good to use tools you are most comfortable with and which are easy to control. Of course, there is no replacement for a really good set of wood chisels. Have fun and let the chips fly!

Sweet.... 6 foot plus? I gotta get my first 3D full body carved one of these days...
Love to see a night shot of the eyes...!

TM

Lake,
Yeah, he was about 66" tall. Sorry, no night pics - I took him to an artshow last weekend and he sold in two hours. But at least I got a photo of him for posterity. The same customers also bought this mailbox holder...

nice!! i dont think its too dark i think its bad..looks kool az hell

TM

Thanks for the positive feedback ya'll. Collectively you guys are probably the best tiki artists on the planet so I really value your opinions. Hey, anybody know how long it takes for oil stain to wear off human skin?

G
GECKO posted on Mon, Nov 17, 2003 4:03 PM

sweeet color brah

Very nice. Great job!

Gojo hand cleaner will take it right off.