Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

1st try at tiki pole...HELP!!

Pages: 1 16 replies

Hi I'm new to this game but it looks like a whole hell of a lot of fun. A friend of mine gave me a tiki he made when he moved and after a honeymoon in Hawaii I've been a little obsessed. I recently had to cut down some dead palm trees at work and I am now the proud owner of 3 8 foot tall palm trunks. It looked easy enough: take chainsaw carve face, chisel at details, done. But of course as you guys will (I'm sure) attest to it is not quite that easy. I was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers on tools and methods I should use. I've seen alot of tikis now that are not palm I was thinking of maybe getting ride of the palms and trying pine or something 1st. Any help would be greatly apreciated. Thanks.

Aloha schase1399 and Welcome to Tiki Central. I'm not a carver by any means but I do know a few things from reading the posts here.

First off, DON'T throw out those palm trunks! If they are freshly cut, then they are probably still full of water (even if they were dead). You won't be able to carve them for about 6 months. Let them dry out and give them a try then.

This is the main Carving Post here on TC. It's got lots of info:

http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=1605&forum=7

For tools, here's a good post:

http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=4918&forum=7

Good luck and have fun.
Post some pics when your tiki is done.

Hey - I'm a poet and didn't know it!

Thanks that is definitley helpful information. My problem now is where. I live in an apartment and the property manager has been nice about it but I don't want to piss people off. Should I tarp them or find a buddies garage?

Are there any woods easily available in central florida that I can carve right away? 6 months is a logng time It would gbe good to get some practice in, any help???