Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Tiki Bathroom

Pages: 1 11 replies

Aloha, everyone.
Just recently came across this site as I've begun research on my nexy home project - a Tiki themed bathroom!

I am by no means an expert in Tiki couture, which is why I'm seeking out anyone's advice on how to turn me and my girlfriend's bathroom into the most eclectic room in our Hollywood apartment.

Skies the limit on suggestions, but we are working on the typically paltry unemployed filmmaker and actress incomes.
And since its the bathroom, I want to place to be maintainable (not too much grass skirting or sand on the floor).

The room is maybe 5' wide, 8' deep, with a tub at the end opposite the door. A toilet is to your left and a sink to your right as you walk in.

For starters, we're gonna paint the walls a deep lava red. I'm trying to figure out the best color for the ceiling to make it look "open", but still have a night or late evening feel.

Possible run bamboo a few inches below the ceiling, adding some "cross beams" so I can put up parrots.

We're starting from scratch, so, again, any and all suggestions are appreciated...

K
Kanaka posted on Fri, Jan 2, 2004 6:43 AM

You'll have to mount this on the wall!

Scotty

D

There's a book called "Pad The Guide to Ultra-Living" that has alot of fun ideas, Check it out at http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0811826538/qid=1073083813/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/002-3914558-3368808?v=glance&s=books

Yes-Pad is a great book for ideas! I made the toilet seat cover (I chose the male centerfold option) and I'd say that I never had so much fun "crafting"! Definitely pick that book up.

I think that there was a luau-ish themed bathroom in it actually.

D