Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Pixies Announce North American Dates!

Pages: 1 24 replies

Woo Hoo!

For once I'm actually glad I live up in Calgary! One of my perennial faves, the Pixies, have announced a small 11-date pre-tour of Western Canada and the United States.

I've been wishing for this since they disbanded 11 years ago!

The Pixies! I saw them open for U2 in 1990.
Hope you get to see them Slacks!

I was in High School in Boston a little after they got HUGE (and they got huge quick too). I remember seeing in the Boston Pheonix that they would play the occasional show, and all my friends would go. I, on the other hand, was "too punk rock" for those "corporate bands" that were played on the radio. Boy, was I stupid. It wasn't until much later that I realized who and what they really were. Now I wish I had gone!
So...I too am very excited about the reunion tour. I'll go anywhere to see them...even large corporate sponsered events! Any news on the other dates except Coachella?

K
Kenike posted on Mon, Feb 9, 2004 6:22 PM

I'm a big fan of these guys (and gal). I saw The Pixsters at UNC during their last tour....'91 or '92? Anyway, they SUCKED! I was SO disgusted. All Frank did was scream off key, they were out of tune, and they acted like they couldn't care less. Kim hardly even glanced at the audience and stuck to simple basic bass lines. If I didn't know the songs so well I would have sworn they were a different band...but this is also right before they broke up so maybe they had just had enough? I dunno, but I'm thrilled they're back together. I'll watch for them in Dallas. Anyone know if there's a new album in the works or are they just playing 'wait and see?'

:drink:

H