Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Introduction/Old School vs. New School

Pages: 1 13 replies

SF

Hi all,
This is my first time post so please be gentle, I have sensative feet, not sure what that means ... It's up for interpretation.

I've been a tiki mug collector for about 10 years now (wish I had more). I'm not sure exactly why but my favorite mug has to be the Kahiki Headhunter, simple clean lines, he just looks cool, like someone you want to hang out with.

Anyway I wanted to get some thoughts on Old School tiki Mugs Vs. New School tiki mugs, likes and dislikes. I personally like the old stuff. Nothing like taking a swig from a LEAD GLAZED tiki mug, puts real hair on your chest. That feeling you get when you find a great old tiki mug late in the day after driving all over town, low on gas, headache, backache, $1 dollar left in your pocket, your car is suddenly making a strange sound. It's like a glowing beacon amongst a sea of thrift store trash. You know it has a history and needs the years of grime cleaned off and your just the person to give it new life. My time on this earth has meaning afterall. Maybe this is why I like the old school tiki mugs. I do appreciate the newer mugs being created today though, some really cool designs. One click of a button add it to your shopping cart, input your credit card and wait for your new school tiki mug to arrive, it's like christmas when opening that box. Next is where to put it? Should I mix it in with the old mugs or create a whole section of only new mugs? So I guess I like ALL tiki mugs ... I feel like I'm in therapy and just had a breakthrough!

Thanks for letting me talk this through and thanks for listening.

Doug aka Mr. Crafty

Aloha Mr. Crafty! You missed a good parking lot sale today at Tiki Farm! Welcome aboard Mate!!!!

p.s. Walk the plank with your sensative feet!Arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!