Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

vintage vs. reprodcution tiki mugs?

Pages: 1 7 replies

I'm very new to this hobby and I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on how to identify if a mug is vintage or a reproduction. I notice that a lot of the Orchids of Hawaii designs are being used for new mugs today-- so I want to be cautious about what I buy. Any hints?

thanks!

eric

[ Edited by: SetsofWaves on 2002-08-21 10:27 ]

M

If it's an ebay listing all you need to do is bring it to everyone's attention here at Tiki Central. Someone should be able to tell you if it's vintage or really kinda looks vintage....but isn't.

For other items it is always a good idea to look for wear on the bottom, or crazing of the glaze. Those are two big signs of age. Tiki Farm is now making some "new" things for TV's. Bigbro has informed me that they are now making Sufferin Bastards, but I don't think I have seen one yet. They have been making the "Honi Honi" mugs for some time now. It's a low tumbler shaped vessel with an applique showing wild island frolicking of a somewhat risque nature. Nice mugs, they do good work.

Same for Mr. Bali Hai, another old mug being made once again. Those are easier to spot as the repro's though. The concern is a less than scrupulous seller passing the new versions off as vintage. Dirty pool I say, and not to be countenanced by Tiki Centralites!

Have fun collecting.

[ Edited by: midnite_tiki on 2002-08-21 11:24 ]

Another guideline that some collectors use is to look for mugs that have a restaurant or bar name on them. For the most part these are older mugs as most of the remaining tiki bars don't use mugs that have their name on them. Also, look for a gold foil OMC sticker or 'imported by Otagiri' printed on the bottom. These are older Otagiri mugs.