Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Tiki Magnets (mold making with RTV, casting with resin)

Pages: 1 24 replies

Here is a set of tiki magnets I've been working on. The originals were done in clay then a mold of caulk was made. They were cast in plaster of paris, painted and a magnet was glued on the back.

I'm not an artist so try not to laugh too hard.

EDIT: Title changed to better describe thread contents.

[ Edited by: sporkboyofjustice on 2004-06-07 13:32 ]

i think the top two on the right are da bomb! you might try playing with other finishes, maybe wit some more moai-ey earth tones...?

On 2004-06-03 09:14, Johnny Dollar wrote:
i think the top two on the right are da bomb! you might try playing with other finishes, maybe wit some more moai-ey earth tones...?

Thanks, the top right one was inspired by the suffering bastard but he's not suffering so I guess he's just the bastard. I'll have to get some more paint and fiddle around with the colors, this was the first scheme that looked halfway good so I ran with it.

It's grey on black but with the finish it looks like silver on black. Most of the molds have been destroyed but I still have a couple of the originals so I'll be making some molds again soon.

Hey Sporkboy! Way to go! I used to make tiki nacklaces out of plaster, but they broke so fast it was a bummer! I finally found a great source to make them out of resins that I can color, texture, sand, paint, or whatever! I can throw them at the wall (God forbid I do that to a Tiki of course!) and they won't break! I can hook you up with the website that I order from if you are interested...I'm only suggesting resin because I'm sure you've dropped a few already, right? :) check out the results!

http://www.thetackytiki.com

And keep on keepin' on!

On 2004-06-03 10:50, suburbanpagan wrote: