Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Question for carvers...

Pages: 1 22 replies

C

Hello I'm a newbie here, so I hope this isnt a stupid question. I want to try my hand at carving. I was a painter and musician, before becoming a full time chef. So, I dont have as much time for art as I would like! The only carving I have done is ice carving :wink:
Anyway there is a huge red cedar log, about 6 ft. long out in the yard. It's been there nearly 5 years,(just been plantin' flowers around it)

Would red cedar be terrible to carve?

Does it splinter too much?

Have you carved any Tiki Ice Sculpures? That would be something I'd like to see pictures of.

What tools do you use for Ice Sculpures? I'd assume a chainsaw for roughing out large pieces then chisels, gouges & an ice pick for the finer details. These're the same tools used by most of the carvers on this board (less the ice pick, though). You'd just have to add sanding, burning, & staining/varnishing to your skills, and I'd think they're the least important of the needed skills. I think being able to choose a good design, lay it out, rough it out & add details are much more important.

C

On 2004-06-14 09:15, freddiefreelance wrote:
Have you carved any Tiki Ice Sculpures? That would be something I'd like to see pictures of.

What tools do you use for Ice Sculpures? I'd assume a chainsaw for roughing out large pieces then chisels, gouges & an ice pick for the finer details. These're the same tools used by most of the carvers on this board (less the ice pick, though). You'd just have to add sanding, burning, & staining/varnishing to your skills, and I'd think they're the least important of the needed skills. I think being able to choose a good design, lay it out, rough it out & add details are much more important.