Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Retro? Modern? Jacks-thingies..What IS IT???

Pages: 1 28 replies

R

Aloha my friends!
These items are puzzling. I am not a expert in modern furniture. Er, perhaps its not even furniture! I have 3 identical items of this. Constructed in a type of metal with cables. Plastic balls are on the ends. These "jacks" (thats what they remind me of) can be turned several ways on any side. The 3 pieces do not have any identification on them whatsoever. Don't know who made them. I must say though, whoever did make these did an excellent job! There tight with no looseness and the bars are all straight.
Can you imagine just trying to put these things together?!! :0
Anyone know what they are or who made these?

Pride and patience makes work an ART.

[ Edited by: RenTiki on 2004-07-08 18:56 ]

Could they be the bottom half (legs) of tables. Are thet level enough to set a round piece of glass on?

Perfect timing, just in time for the release of Bucky's stamp! These are Geodesic demonstrators to show how tension is more important than compression in Geodesic design. You can see that the whole design distorts when you press down on the bars, the tension increasing on the cables between the bars, then they spring back up when released. I believe that you can put a tempered glass table top on these, but they'll perform their demonstrator function if you put too much weight on'em.

D

They look like those bar puzzles that make you crazy trying to figure out,and then someone smugly shows you how easy it is to solve and then you kick them in the shins.

R

:lol:
docwoods, you're too funny! I doubt it's a annoying puzzle. I don't think these things come apart.
Flounder, I think you're correct. Setting these on one certain side reveals 3 legs that could support a table top.
Perhaps two for a coffee table and one for an end table?