Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

What is the most you have spent for one Tiki?

Pages: 1 21 replies

Hi everybody:)
I am new member here and I come from Finland. I am new with Tikis too and I found this site by accident:) I have been reading messages and looking wonderfull pictures in here for couple days and I decided to join with you:)

However, the big guestion is what is most money you have spent for one Tiki? I dont mean the money you spent for making it, I mean the money you spent for buying it:)

B

Well since I am a carver, I don't buy many tikis but the most I have Sold one for was $2500.00 He was a big 13 foot maori warrior

He was made from Honduran Mahogany felled by Hurricane Andrew

Ben, that sounds like good value for money,whoever bought it. That things HUGE. how long did it take you to carve.

V

Hei Tiki Finland, good to have a new european tiki fan here.
I think the most I spent was about $150 for some great tiki painting.

By the way, I love Helsinki, one of my favorite city. And I love Finnish litterature, movies, music...
Tervetuloa

B

Cheeky, It WAS Hugeand I spent 30 days working on it all the while working on other carvings as well, so its hard to say. I put about 10 coats of Marine eurathane on it and when I saw it 12 years later, It Still looked really good and the finish seemed as good as new, The owner never did any maint on it, just left it hung on a west facing wall.

$500. on my witco dinning room table with three heavy duty rataan swivel chairs. had to cancel my florida vacation that year, but still what a deal! if anyone has the book, hula girls and tiki gods, by chris pfouts, there's a picture of it in there. great witco tiki as the base.

I sold my soul for an eternal tiki (and I think the seller got ripped off! Go dawg!)

T

[ Edited by: TNTiki on 2004-11-06 18:44 ]

Benzart, no price could be worthy of such a mega-tiki!