Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Hurricane wood

Pages: 1 7 replies

I'm a brand newbie to carving and have questions about different wood. Due to the onslaught of hurricanes this year, there seems to be a bounty of wood lying around. I personally don't have alot experience with some of the exotic trees that have become available - even though I have stock piled some pieces for my own use.

Here is a list of some of the trees that I have seen: Ficus (Very LARGE Trunks), Banyan, Australian Pine, Live Oak, Carrotwood (I don't know if that is right), Gumbo Limbo, and many types of Palms (what are the best?).

Is any of this wood good for carving?

Do I need to prpare the logs in any way other than sealing the ends?

edited by me

[ Edited by: Chip and Andy 2009-02-23 10:24 ]

Thanks for the input.

A great resource is to go to the dump on Powerline and check out some of the stuff people are dumping. The fewer trees in the landfill makes everyone happy. i also have seen some good logs at the county parks. You just have to find out where they are stockpiling thier cuttings.

B

The Ficus and Banyan are brothers and Fantastic for carving. Once the milky sap dries out it is Beautiful, Easy to carve and Very Stable in that it rarely splits. Carrot wood is terrible for carving as is Austrailian pine and Live oak. Coconut, Washingtonian and Sable(cabbage) are the best carving palms.
Good luck.

I'm sure all trees are different but how long will it take for a trunk to naturally dry out on its own? Is there a way of telling when it's ready? Thanks.

B